How To Dye Your Hair Using Kool-Aid

About a month ago I was intrigued by a few articles in the fashion and beauty industry on dying your hair unconventional colors. One particular article caught my interest about Lauren Conrad’s beauty team who did a fun post with multiple colors.Dying your hair has always been a messy and daunting task not to mention extremely hazardous to your health. Being that I am intrigued by Scene hair styles I decided to dedicate this blog post to safely dying your hair fun colors using Kool-Aid. For those of you who have never dyed your hair before you may want to have a friend help you and Kool-Aid may be the perfect alternative, the lighter your hair the better your results.

You will need: Kool-Aid (3-5 packets depending on the length of your hair), hair conditioner, a glass bowl, aluminum foil (if you are doing streaks), a highlighting wand, latex gloves, clock, towel and petroleum jelly.

1. Put on your latex gloves (remember Kool-Aid stains everything!)
2. Dab the petroleum jelly around your hair-line on your skin to avoid dying you skin the same color as your hair.
3. Put some hair conditioner in your glass bowl and add your packets of Kool-Aid. If you are doing multiple colors make sure to keep the colors separated in different bowls.
4. Mix the Kool-Aid with the hair conditioner so the color is evenly distributed. (Tip: you may want to cover and heat the hair conditioner in the microwave for a few seconds to help the Kool-Aid dissolve better)
4. If you are applying streaks place a sheet of aluminum foil under the hair you are dying and apply the Kool-Aid  mixture to your hair using the highlighting wand. After the mixture is applied to the hair wrap it in the aluminum  foil and move on to the next section.
5. Once you are done, check the clock so you are aware of the time. There is no required amount of time to leave the Kool-Aid in your hair however the longer you leave it on the darker your results.
6. After the desired color is achieved rinse your hair with water and style as usual.

There are plenty of methods using Kool-Aid to dye your hair be sure to check out youtube for more hands on tutorials.

This entry was posted in beauty, fashion, Green and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to How To Dye Your Hair Using Kool-Aid

  1. vicky says:

    This is by far the best kool-aid hair dye how to I’ve ever found! I have been trying and trying to find a how to do that look like Lauren Conrad with kool-aid for months! and now I’m doing a science report on kool-aid and what do you know? your blog pops up and volia`!

    Also i have a question about the colors.. which flavors did you use? i adore the ones you used!

    Thank you.

  2. Lyriq says:

    Awesome! Love the colors. Does this work well on darker hair? My hair is light brown, more brown than blond, though. I’ve always wanted to dye my hair without having to buy that stupid semi-permanent stuff (for $7) that washes out in 1 wash, so hopefully this will work on my hair? Thank you so much for the helpful hints, though!

  3. kiara12 says:

    This is awesome im trying it right now wit mahh sista i love it its redd highlights btw rite now on easter haha btw happy easter yo

  4. kiara12 says:

    I dnt think you used koolaid either taha ijs i think yuhh usedd dahh regularr kind of dahh highliights idk buht i lke iht tho Buht tuhh mehh ihts awesome fuqq dahh h8trs theyy cantt doee iht lyke mehh taha ijs

  5. beautypunk says:

    Kool-aid isn’t a subsitiute for chemical hair dye nor yields the results as professional dyes, this is just a safer alternative to those who do not like using chemicals on their hair. Of course the lighter your hair is before application the better the results. Be sure to look up Youtube tutorials as a guide if you are having trouble with application.

  6. koolaid hair says:

    I’ve done a few colors on the tips of my hair. I’d really like to try dark blue, but can’t quite figure out how to get the color. Is there a dark blue koolaid or do I need to mix some colors together? I’ve done light blue on my hair and it turned into a turquoise mermaid-looking hair.

    • beautypunk says:

      Try finding a dark blue, if not you can try mixing blue and a bit of dark purple to get a darker blue result maybe even add a bit of food dye. This is just Kool-aid so its not as permanent as a colored dye. Kool-aid will eventually fade as you wash your hair which is great if you like to change your hair color often.

      • C-D_ says:

        My Koolaid color lasts ~3 months. Seems better than the results I’ve gotten from actual dye (my experience is just with the red though).

  7. Maya says:

    how long does the kool-aid stay in?

  8. ACW says:

    …however… do NOT make the mistake I did 20 years ago and assume that Kool-aid is temporary… it may fade quickly for darker, non-porous hair, but if you’re blonde with bleached highlights, it WILL take and it WILL be bright and it WON’T simply wash out in a week or two like it does for your brunette friends. Oh, and be thankful that you all have the internet & YouTube so you can learn from others, ya whippersnappers. LOL

  9. Josie says:

    Do you mix the cool aid with water first before adding conditioner, or do u use the dry mix?

  10. Kaitlyn says:

    I think its really cool I am going to try it in the morning 4 sure. =D thanks you guys!!

  11. LillyD. says:

    which flavor of kool aid did you use to make dark and light blue?

  12. Sydnee says:

    will it fade?! to a ugly color?

  13. Ella says:

    My 11 year old just boiled water, and put green kool-aid in it and mixed it up, let it cool a bit then put the ends of her hair in it (about 3 inches). She is blonde, and MAN is it bright! Now I am seeing that it is hard to get out… it looks cute, and her friends love it but she starts school soon and I am afraid I am going to have to get her hair cut! :(

  14. Abby says:

    does this work? just read some comments that sounded like it worked :) just wanted to make sure…

  15. Jessica says:

    i have medium blond it looks like it has red in my hair dose it stain blonde hair and for blue i have tryed blue come in color but its green my frends say that makes sence becaues blue and yellow make green

  16. nurin says:

    This Kool aid have put alcohol or not?
    because I am a Muslim
    I want to try but I’m afraid
    if kool aid have a alcohol !

    • kool aid is a kids drink and doesn’t have any alcohol in it.

    • Chy says:

      I don’t believe kool aid has alcohol, I mean because all it is is a edible water coloring dye, and is safe for children to consume, I don’t think parents would give it to their children if it had alcohol

      • Keyell says:

        Nurin’s just being ignorant…. or is just really stupid… first of all in America its prohibited and against the law to sell alcohol to minors [people under the age of 21 incase your dumbass doesnt know what a minor is] ….. ITS MADE OF SUGAR WATER AND OTHER ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS ,… ARE YOU STUPID OR SOMETHING READ THE INGREDIENTS!!!!!!!!!!!! ALSO IF IT WAS ALCOHOLIC WHY DO LOTS OF CHILDREN CONSUME IT? WHAT KIND OF PARENTS WOULD LET THEIR CHILDREN DRINK ALCOHOL… ALSO IF YOUR A MUSLIM, WHY ARE YOU SO WORRIED…. WHOSE GOING TO SEE THE DYE WITH A HIJABI OVER IT UNLESS YOU ARE TRYING TO DYE YOUR HIJAB!

  17. Jessica says:

    i have light brown hair with natural blonde highlights and i am doing this tomorrow with kool aid and i am going to use 2 packets of tropical punch and 2 packets of cherry. how long will it last in my hair and when will it start to fade. i need to wash my hair every day because my roots get oily fast and i hate my oily hair. its so annoying. i need ANSWERS. HOW LONG WILL IT LAST. my school allows it. WHICH WAY SHOULD I DO IT??? the way with the conditioner or boiling water. i also heard that cherry kool aid is possibly permanent? i dont mind if it is so i dont have to redo it for a while. i need to go to school on tuesday with red hair. My assistant principal promised that if i did it he would dye his mustache red like my hair, lol. please help me. anyone reply.

    • Erin says:

      Either method is fine. The thing with the conditioner method is that you have more control over the application. You just brush the mixture on, wrap your hair, and leave it for awhile. While the boiling water you have to sit with your head over the koolaid and let it soak. This can get tiring. I would go with the conditioner method. The amount of time it takes to fade depends on your hair and how often you wash it. Washing it everyday, it would probably fade within the week.

    • Bri Marie says:

      Oily hair — Apple Cider Vinegar and Lemon
      Combine 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar with the grated peel of an entire lemon and allow it to set for 15 minutes to absorb the excess oil from your scalp, and then rinse in the shower.
      Apple cider vinegar will remove build up from styling products and conditioners and strengthen the hair shaft, leaving you with soft, shiny strands. It will also balance hair’s pH level, kill bacteria, and is a cure for dandruff. :) Your Welcome

  18. Jill says:

    I just did my hair purple but it looks black. When i wash it out would it turn to a light purple. (i have light brown hair by the way)

  19. gigi says:

    how long does it stay in for brunets that have some blonde but mostly light brunet

  20. Hailee says:

    What is clear gloss and do you have to use it?? Also, what do you do with the bleach?

  21. Izzy says:

    I have tried this on my hair many times. And I love it but the only problem is my hair (I have red hair) won’t keep the color! It lasts about 2 washes then its gone. If you have red hair you should consider dip dying it a deeper red. I do it every time I dye my hair with kool-aid and it looks so pretty! I get many compliments on it. “)

  22. Jessica says:

    Black Cherry works great & if you mix a little bit of the powder of whatever color you use with a shampoo/conditioner mix that you use each time you wash hair & you leave it on your hair for a few minutes before rinsing out it helps to keep color longer. I did mine a couple weeks ago & it’s just as bright today as the day I did it, if not brighter & I shower every day. I use the shampoo/conditioner mix w/ kool aid powder mixed in. After I rinse that out I also use Aussie 3 minute miracle conditioner (but, that is because I am naturally dark brown, so, I have to bleach every so often to be able to use fun colors!) :0)

  23. Brittany says:

    I tried to dye a small portion of my hair red with the kool aid but it didn’t show.. My hair is a dirty blonde but a little darker.. But the ends of my hair are almost blonde.. I’ve never dyed my hair before I need help

  24. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  25. lauren says:

    when I tried it it didn’t work

  26. Brooke J says:

    this better work lol .-.

  27. Antina Katie says:

    Umm i got a question, can it be any kool aid? Because ont he othe blog i read it says to use unsweeten kool aid

  28. Emily Elise says:

    I need help. I tried dying my hair purple with purple kool aid amd left ot on over niht. Woke up washed it out and my hair wasnt the slightest tinted! Any suggestions? Thanks so much

  29. Pingback: 13 Kool Aid Inspired Crafts

  30. Molly says:

    I did this last Fourth of July (died my tips dark blue) and LOVED it! I have dirty blonde hair and it took really well! However, it ended up fading to a greenish-light-blue. It stayed in a lot longer than others are saying…several months! It endured chlorine from the pool, and lots of ocean time! My hair was not letting go of that color! But it was fun and safe and I really enjoyed getting to do it without spending the money on it and without damaging my hair! It looked great and professional–everyone was asking where I got my hair done! I say go for it!

  31. Clarissa says:

    IT DOESN’T COME OUT! I have had my hair kool aid dyed for almost a whole year now, and it hasn’t come out. I have tried vinegar, baking soda, a malibu treatment, and have had a salon dye it. It is still there. My advise to people wanting to try this: If your hair is HEALTHY, as in you don’t dye it often, DO NOT DO THIS. It doesn’t come out and it will kill your hair.

  32. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you, However I
    am experiencing problems with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable to join it. Is there anyone else getting identical RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  33. tiffany says:

    what about water

  34. Pingback: Hair Makeup and Nails » How To Dye Your Hair Using Kool-Aid

  35. Lexi says:

    I’m trying it tonight! Hopefully it will work:) I’ve tried it before but I kept doing it wrong. My sisters have done it a few times and we have “read up” on it, so hopefully we will get it right this time. They told me the one step I messed up, so we are going to go for it tonight:) I’ll update how it turned out tomorrow!

  36. Pingback: 25 Kool Aid Projects - Reasons To Skip The Housework

Leave a Reply

